Conference on the Media and Economic Performance


March 5-6, 2004


Stanford Institute for International Studies

Center on Development, Democracy and the Rule of Law


Eva Meyersson Milgrom, Steve LeVine and Romain Wacziarg,



Preliminary Schedule



Friday, March 5, 2004


8:00 am: Breakfast at Encina Hall, Oksenberg Conference Room (Central/South Encina Hall—3rd floor)


1 - Information Incompleteness: The Role of the Media


9:00 am: Welcome and Introductory Remarks


9:15 am: Session #1: Andrea Prat (LSE) and David Strömberg (Stockholm University): “State Television and Political Information”. Discussant: Justin Wolfers (Stanford University).


10:30: Coffee Break


10:45 am: Session #2: Lisa George (CUNY - Hunter College) and Joel Waldfogel (University of Pennsylvania): “Does the New York Times Spread Apathy and Ignorance?”. Discussant: Brian Viard (Stanford University).


12:00 am: Lunch at Encina Hall, Oksenberg Conference Room


2 - Media Bias


1:15 pm: Session #3 - Andrei Shleifer (Harvard University) and Sendhil Mullainathan (MIT): “The Market for News”. Discussant: Jeffrey Zwiebel (Stanford University)


2:30 pm: Coffee break


2:45 pm: Session #4 - Timothy Groseclose (UCLA): “A Measure of Media Bias”. Discussant: John Zaller (UCLA)


4:00 pm: Coffee Break


4:15 pm: Session #5 - Abraham Wickelgren (FTC): “Media Mergers and the Ideological Content of Programming” (coauthored with David Balan and Patrick deGraba). Discussant: John McMillan (Stanford University)


5:30 pm: Adjourn


7:00 pm: Dinner at Eva Meyersson Milgrom and Paul Milgrom's house.

Post-dinner Keynote Speaker: Andrei Shleifer (Harvard University)



Saturday, March 6, 2004


8:00 am: Breakfast at Encina Hall, Oksenberg Conference Room


3 - Corporate Performance and the Media


9:00 am: Session #6 – Joint session: Ulrike Malmendier (Stanford University): “CEO Superstars” (coauthored with Geoffrey Tate), and James Hamilton (Duke University): “Media Coverage of CEOs: Who? What? Where? When? Why?” (coauthored with Richard Zeckhauser). Discussant: Ravi Singh (Harvard Business School).


10:30 am: Coffee Break


10:45 am: Session #7Luigi Zingales (University of Chicago): “The Media and Asset Prices” (coauthored with Alexander Dyck). Discussant: Peter Henry (Stanford University).


12:00 am: Lunch at Encina Hall, Oksenberg Conference Room


4 - Panels - Bechtel Conference Center, Encina Hall


1:30 pm: Panel #1. “Corporate Fraud: Enron and Electricity”

Speakers:         Bethany McLean (Correspondent, Fortune Magazine, co-author “The Smartest Guys in the Room”)

Richard Waters (West Coast director, The Financial Times)

John Emshwiller (Correspondent, The Wall Street Journal, Co-author, “24 Days”)

Frank Partnoy (Professor of Law, University of San Diego, author, "F.I.A.S.C.O.: The Inside Story of a Wall Street Trader" and "Infectious Greed: How Deceit and Risk Corrupted the Financial Markets")

3:00 pm: Coffee Break

3:30 pm: Panel #2. “Hot Money in Russia: the 1998 Crash

Speakers:         Bill Powell (Chief International Correspondent, Fortune Magazine, author, “Treason: How a Russian Spy Led an American Journalist to a U.S. Double Agent”)

Edward Lucas (Moscow Correspondent 1998-2002, The Economist)

David Woodruff (Associate Professor of Political Science, M.I.T., and author of "Money Unmade: Barter and the Fate of Russian Capitalism")


5:00 pm: Adjourn


6:30 pm: Dinner at Zibibbo, 430 Kipling Street, Palo Alto 94301, (650) 328-6722





  1. David Balan (FTC)

  2. David Baron (Stanford University)

  3. Stefano DellaVigna (UC Berkeley)

  4. John Emshwiller (The Wall Street Journal)

  5. James Hamilton (Duke University):

  6. Lisa George (Hunter College - CUNY)

  7. Timothy Groseclose (UCLA)

  8. Peter Henry (Stanford University)

  9. Steve LeVine (The Wall Street Journal and Stanford University)

  10. Edward Lucas (The Economist)

  11. Ulrike Malmendier (Stanford University)

  12. Bethany McLean (Fortune Magazine)

  13. John McMillan (Stanford University)

  14. Eva Meyersson Milgrom (Stanford University),

  15. Sendhil Mullainathan (MIT)

  16. Frank Partnoy (University of San Diego)

  17. Bill Powell (Fortune Magazine)

  18. Andrea Prat (London School of Economics)

  19. Monroe Price (Yeshiva University)

  20. Marcus Prior (Princeton University)

  21. Ravi Singh (Harvard Business School)

  22. Andrei Shleifer (Harvard University)

  23. David Strömberg (Stockholm University)

  24. Brian Viard (Stanford University)

  25. Romain Wacziarg (Stanford University)

  26. Joel Waldfogel (University of Pennsylvania)

  27. Richard Waters (The Financial Times)

  28. Abraham Wickelgren (FTC)

  29. Justin Wolfers (Stanford University)

  30. David Woodruff (MIT)

  31. John Zaller (UCLA)

  32. Luigi Zingales (Chicago GSB)

  33. Jeffrey Zwiebel (Stanford University)